top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAngie

Archive is Definitely Alive


To Read or Not to Read: Definite read if you like ghost stories, a bit of romance, interesting characters, and 3D character growth. This is also a unique coming of age novel. Please do not read if you have lost a child and have a hard time reading about other parents losing their own.


Overall: I loved this book! This is the third book of Schwab's that I have read and I have to comment that I'm impressed all are very different. She's not a formula writer, and instead of following "a, then b, and finally c" story components - it's as thought her characters are telling her how to write them. Each are as individualistic as everyday people you or I would come into contact with. Characters are very human, they make mistakes and are relatable on a personal level.


The story is interesting and the set up of the setting in this novel is described in such detail that at times I thought I could touch and walls or smell the dust that was there. Mackenzie also has moments of remembrance in which I would say I experienced the sensations with her.


Other interesting notes: This book has violence - and death as the main character is a bit of a spiritual hunter. There is also the death of a child (this can be a big one for all you mamas and daddys) I have to be honest that at times it was difficult for me to read but it really shapes Mackenzie's growth and understanding about life. Mac (as she is affectionately called) also has to lie about many things to keep a big secret.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page