top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAngie

Darker Duet

[Do Not Read if you haven't read "This Savage Song"]



To Read or Not to Read: This was a "To-Read" for me with a bit of reservation. The story is not a happy one but the tone of the book doesn't lend itself to be. Honestly, I think a "happy" ending would have felt to forced and really fake. This may be a "Not to Read" for individuals that are going through a particular hard time and feeling loss will cause further anxiety.


Overall: I really liked this book. It is the end of a series (so far), and wraps up the story quite well. There are no hanging ends, not really a question as to where the story goes from here or even what the characters plan to do next. I would read if you are feeling emotionally stable, there are parts of this book that may make you want to shut it and never pick it up again because tragedy does strike. Be forewarned, not every story has a fairytale ending.


Other Interesting Notes: There is death here, and violence as you know from book 1, that's how the monsters are made. I really like August's instrument in this book. What I absolutely loved about this book is that Schwab has created a character that doesn't identify as male or female, and rather identifies as they. This is a mainstream book and she has created a character for many that don't get an opportunity to relate to any characters.


*This review I feel is especially short as I'm being very careful to not give anything away.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page